November 15, 2013

Brooks + Scarpa Honored at AIA/LA Design Awards

421778 Educational 54

Competition proposal by Brooks + Scarpa for the University of North Florida Interfaith chapel in Jacksonville. Image courtesy of Brooks + Scarpa.

Monday evening saw a quasi-full house at the Broad Stage Theater in Santa Monica. That’s where the Los Angeles architecture and design community gathered to pay tribute to its own with the annual

AIA/LA Design Awards

. The big winner of the evening was

Brooks + Scarpa

. Angie Brooks, elegant in all white, joined Larry Scarpa to accept their four honors. They were: the Cultural Affairs Commission Award for the America Tropical Interpretive Center; AIA/LA Next Awards for Interfaith Chapel at University of North Florida; and AIA/LA Design Awards for Metalsa Center for Manufacturing Innovation and CAM Museum of Art.

Others taking multiple awards were


for the M Building and their own LA headquarters;

Koning Eizenberg Architecture

for 28th Street Apartments and John Adams Middle School;

Morphosis Architects

for Perot Museum of Nature and Science and Morphosis, Los Angeles.

Rios Clementi Hale Studios

took two AIA/Next LA Awards for Bergamont Station and Southwest School of Art.

Frederick Fisher & Partners


Griffin Enright Architects


John Friedman Alice Kimm Architects


Marmol Radziner



, and


were among the other honorees announced by David Martin and Danielle Martin, third and fourth generation architects at AC Martin.

Fred Fisher received a rousing ovation as recipient of the Presidential Gold Medal Award. Mayor Eric Garcetti and James Turrell were named honorary AIA Los Angeles members. Additional Presidential Awards recipients included: Michael Govan, CEO, LACMA; Elena Manderdini of SCI-Arc; the building team for the Tom Bradley Terminal at LAX; Hadley and Peter Arnold for Arid Lands Institute; and Bill Roschen of the City Planning Commission. Frank O. Gehry’s California Aerospace Museum took the 25-year award. At the opposite end of the spectrum Johnson Marklee was named for Emerging Practice. For a complete list of winners see


Recent DesignWire