December 2, 2017

Interior Design Celebrates 2017 Best of Year Award Winners

Over 1,000 design professionals and enthusiasts from Mexico, Poland, Brazil, China, Israel, and more joined Interior Design on December 1 at the IAC building in New York to honor the world’s outstanding projects and products for the 12th annual Best of Year (BoY) awards. Interior Design editor in chief Cindy Allen kicked off the evening reminding everyone that this wasn’t a competition, but a celebration. “I am very, very proud,” Allen said. “But remember: to be in this industry really is the best of the year.”

Publisher Carol Cisco agreed, acknowledging the hard work of choosing the winners each year. “We only have three weeks to get through over a thousand submissions,” Cisco explained. “And each year it gets harder and harder to pick only one winner.”

Together, Allen and Cisco announced the product winners, which included selections from Formica GroupBuzziSpace, and Rubelli, among many others. Then, Allen announced the project winners, which included NADAAACannonDesignDeborah Berke Partners, and Studio Arthur Casas. Winners in 113 design categories were named (view all 2017 Best of Year winners and honorees here). 

The annual Best of Year Awards follows a successful Hall of Fame gala the previous night at the I.M Pei–designed River Pavilion at the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Allen inducted Robin Klehr AviaPeter Q. BohlinLidewij Edelkoort, and Mark Zeff into the illustrious Hall of Fame. Renowned architect I.M. Pei was honored with a special tribute on his 100th birthday.

A big thank you to our event sponsors.

View the slideshow to see more highlights from the event.

Recent Events