September 6, 2019

Interior Design Announces 2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

At the 34th Hall of Fame, the Great Hall was designed by Tsao & McKown with Sunbrella and Sunbrella Contract. Photography by Carrie Draghi Photography.

Interior Design has announced the honorees of its 35th annual Hall of Fame (HoF) Awards. Selected by Editor in Chief Cindy Allen and a nominating committee of previous HoF members, this year’s inductees are Rick Joy, principal of Studio Rick Joy; India Mahdavi, principal of India Mahdavi Studio; Paul Lewis, Marc Tsurumaki, and David J. Lewis, principals of LTL Architects; and receiving the 2019 Leadership Award, Paula Wallace, president of Savannah College of Art and Design.

“This year’s Hall of Fame inductees have the uncanny ability to push beyond the now and create the next,” said Allen. “Everyone talks about the next generation, but these visionaries are actively influencing the future of design through education and innovation.” Allen went on to say, “These honorees represent the full spectrum of our world, including commercial, residential, hospitality, retail, education, and product design. The full 360 degrees.”

Hosted by Allen, the most anticipated event in the design industry will take place at the River Pavilion in the I.M. Pei & Partners-designed Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, on December 5. The elegant, 45,000-square-foot, glass-enclosed River Pavilion features stunning views of the Hudson River.

Interior Design, along with Hall of Fame sponsors Sunbrella and Sunbrella Contract will debut a new immersive design experience at the River Pavilion. The journey through the Sunbrella Hall creates a complete transformation of the 1986 building.

Proceeds from the Hall of Fame event are donated to the Alpha Workshops, a not-for-profit organization, through a donor-designated grant awarded by DIFFA, Design Industries Foundation Fighting AIDS.

The 14th annual Best of Year Awards will take place the following night, Friday, December 6th, in the same location.

Meet the Inductees

Rick Joy

India Mahdavi

Paul Lewis, Marc Tsurumaki, and David J. Lewis

Paula Wallace—Special Leadership Award

Read the full press release here.

Seats for the event can be purchased through Regina Freedman by calling 917-934-2835 or emailing [email protected].

See the complete list of Hall of Fame members

Recent DesignWire