October 19, 2016

ASID Illinois 2016 Design Excellence Award Winners

Hartshorne Plunkard Architecture won the award for Hospitality. Photography by Patay McEnroe.

The ASID Illinois Chapter recently celebrated its 40th anniversary by revealing winners of the 2016 Design Excellence Awards. To ring in the festivities, over 200 architects and designers gathered at the Chez in Chicago to commemorate the Windy City’s leading design practitioners, many of which have defined—and redefined—its substantial industry. “While our methods have evolved, the end goal will always be to design to improve lives,” ASID-IL president Carol Stolt said. “This year’s winners represent just that.”

Donna Mondi Interior Design won the award for Singular Space. Photography by Nick Novelli.

A total of 22 Design Excellence Awards—outlined below—were bestowed upon industry greats who excel in areas of contract, residential, historic restoration, and product design.

Category Winner
Industry Partner Award Oscar Isberian Rugs
Furnishings Fun Finders
Lighting Frank Ponterio Interior Design
Surfaces Skyline Design
Student Design Award William Nash Blankenship
Bathroom Design; Honorable Mention Katherine Elizabeth Design
Bathroom Design; First Place Yamini Designs, LLC
Kitchen Tom Stringer Design Partners
Universal Design Mature Transitions by Design
Showcase Space Donna Mondi Interior Design
Outdoor Space Leslie Jones & Associates, Inc.
Singular Space Donna Mondi Interior Design
Residence Project by Small Firm; Honorable Mention Tina Dann-Fenwick Interiors
Residence Project by Small Firm; First Place PSA Interiors, LTD
Residence Under 3000 SF Sweet Peas Design
Residence Over 3000 SF; Honorable Mention Tom Stringer Design Partners
Residence Over 3000 SF; First Place Donna Mondi Interior Design
Healthcare CallisonRTKL
Education Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
Hospitality Hartshorne Plunkard Architecture
Small Contract Project Under 3000 SF Inspired Interiors
Contract Project by Small Firm Healing Environments
Fun Finders won the award for Furnishings. Photography by Doug Snower and Sharon Exley.

Yamini Designs, LLC won the award for Bathroom Design. Photography by Spectrum Studio/Kendall Reeves.

Additionally, ASID-IL awarded Meaghan Wallace with the Rising Star award, Joan Kaufman with the Designer of Distinction award, and William Nash Blankenship with the Student Design award.

Recent DesignWire