February 2, 2017

CIDA Announces 2016 Award for Excellence Winners

White Building in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Photography courtesy of CIDA.

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) has revealed the 2016 winners of its annual Award for Excellence. The Award, which is open to faculty members and collaborating teams at CIDA-accredited interior design programs, recognizes outstanding practices that advance the cause of excellence in interior design education.

Learn more about CIDA accreditation, with input from Interior Design president emeritus Mark Strauss, in the video above.

Carl Matthews, professor and interior design department head in the Fay Jones School of Architecture + Design at the University of Arkansas, took home first prize. Matthews oversaw student teams who developed proposals for partial revitalization and renovation of the White Building in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, which would serve as a facility to aid human trafficking victims.

Moira Gannon Denson and Stephanie McGoldrick received a merit award for their joint entry, “Universal Design-athons at Marymount University and Mount Ida College,” where they teach, respectively. Emily McLaughlin of Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis also received a merit award for “Designing and Constructing with Earthbags in Swaziland.” Honorable Mentions include Deborah Schneiderman from Pratt Institute and Junghwa Suh from Chaminade University of Honolulu, HI.

For more information about this year’s entries and winners, visit the CIDA’s website at www.accredit-id.org.

Learn more about Carl Matthews’s proposals:

Recent DesignWire