June 4, 2013

Sub-Zero and Wolf Select Kitchen Design Winners

Winners of  the

2013 Kitchen Design Contest

hosted by

Sub-Zero and Wolf

were selected from 1,600, entries, the largest-ever submission pool in the competition’s 10-installment history. A panel of seven judges selected the honorees for their use of space, their beauty, and integration of Sub-Zero and Wolf products.

The winners were unveiled at the company headquarters in Madison, WI.  Doug Durbin of


, E.J. Meade of


, Jamie Drake of

Drake Design Associates

, Jeannine Clark of

Mannigan Design

, Joanne Hudson of

Joanne Hudson Associates

, Matthew Quinn of

Design Galleria

, and Vasi Ypsilantis of

The Breakfast Room

delineated between traditional and contemporary, awarding a first-place plaque and $40,000 for each section.

Karen Williams of

St. Charles of New York

took first for traditional, and Davy Swanenberg of

Culimaat Kitchens

took the prize for contemporary. The judges also awarded the “Designer’s Choice” and “People’s Choice” after nearly 5,000 votes were tallied from Facebook and online voting. Jennifer Durbin, a student from the

Art Institute of Houston

, was named the student honoree for the competition.

Davy Swanenberg of Culimaat Kitchens took first place in the Contemporary category.

The winner of Designer’s Choice.

The winner of People’s Choice.

Recent DesignWire